This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

Corona Virus – Information



Corona Virus – Information

Corona Virus – Information

Given the deteriorating epidemiological situation in Europe, Farnesina recommends that all Italian citizens avoid traveling abroad, except for reasons of extreme necessity.

It should also be considered that, given the large number of infections in many European countries, future additional travel restrictions cannot be ruled out, which would mean the risk of complicating any return to Italy.


For additional information, kindly, follow the links below.

For travellers coming to Bulgaria from Italy, please visit:

To enter Bulgaria from other countries (including Italy) you need to meet one of the following requirements:

1. Submit a certificate of completion of the vaccination cycle, at least 14 days after the last dose of vaccine;

2. Present the result of a positive COVID test (PCR or antigenic one) made at least 15 days before and not further than 180 days before entering the country. 

3. To present a negative result from a PCR test for COVID, made not earlier than 72 hours before entering the country;

4. To present a negative result from an antigenic test for COVID, performed not earlier than 48 hours before entering the country.

The order is valid until May 31, 2021.

The general ban to enter the country is in force for passengers arriving from India, Bangladesh, Brazil and some African countries (except for Bulgarian citizens and residents of the country, who may enter with the obligation to observe a period of 10 days quarantine). The entry ban does not apply to arrivals from: Egypt, Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco, Mali, Niger, Chad, Sudan, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, Central African Republic, Gabon, Congo, Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Côte d'Ivoire, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Gambia, Senegal, Burkina Faso, South Sudan, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau and Madagascar.

For more details about the Order and possible exceptions, follow the Bulgarian version of the website.

It is mandatory to wear a protective mask in all closed public places (with the exception of restaurants and bars) and in all open public places where it is not possible to respect the physical distance of at least 1.5 m. Restrictive measures on the opening and operation of economic activities including bars and restaurants have been introduced in Bulgaria, starting from November 27, 2020 and until March 1, 2021.

Information from Bulgarian Authotities (only in Bulgarian):


For travellers going to Italy, please visit: or the web site of the Italian Ministry of foreign affairs and international cooperation.

ENTRIES IN ITALY: in case of stay or transit in Bulgaria for the previous 14 days, besides completing a self-declaration form, it's mandatory to undergo molecular or antigenic test, carried out by swab with a negative result, in the 48 hours before entering the Italian territory. Exceptions for testing apply for children up to 2 years of age.

All passengers entering Italy from an EU country, incl. Bulgaria will have to observe a period of home isolation of 5 days and perform an additional molecular or antigenic test at the end of the specified period. The disposition is valid until May 15, 2021.



The Italian territory is divided into different risk areas with the consequent application of restrictive measures of different types and intensities. On the website of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers it is possible to see a summary of the restrictions in force for the various risk areas (in Italian language). Travelers are therefore invited to carefully read the legislation applicable to the Region of interest before travel.

On the website of the Italian Ministry of Health it is possible to consult the updated picture of the risk categories associated with the various Regions.

With the adoption of Decree № 52 of 22 April 2021, the following provisions were introduced:

- Green certificates: The decree provides for the introduction on the national territory of the so-called "Covid-19 green certificates", proving the status of vaccination against SARS-CoV-2 or overcoming the infection or performing a rapid molecular or antigenic test with a negative result. The vaccination and post infection certificates will be valid for six months, the one for the negative test - 48 hours. Certificates issued in the Member States of the European Union shall be recognized as equivalent, as well as those issued in a third country following a vaccination which is recognized in the European Union.
- Yellow zones: The yellow zones are again subject to the measures provided for them, introduced by this decree.
- Travel: From 26 April 2021, travel between different regions is allowed in the white and yellow zones. In addition, people with a "green certificate" are allowed to travel between the regions and the autonomous provinces in the orange or red zones. From April 26 to June 15, 2021 in the yellow zone is allowed to travel to the home of four people other than those who live together, once a day, from 5.00 to 22.00. People who move can travel with minors who are cared for and with people with disabilities. The same, with the same time limits and number of people, is allowed in the orange zone within the same municipality. Moving to other private homes in the red zone is not allowed.

For more information and details about the current legislation and the exceptions in force, please consult the COVID-19 emergency page in Italian or Bulgarian language.